SSE Setup


SSE Setup Update Information

This page provides users of previous versions of SSE Setup important information about updating to the latest version, which is:

Version 8.5 (Download It)

Critical update: For 8.4 and below
Update recommended?: Yes, for all users. It is especially important that 7.x users update due to a Windows 10 bug in Version 1709 and potentially later that affects 7.x (more info here).
Support for existing projects: Yes, all projects saved with 5.x and greater are supported by this version, but since Windows 95/98/ME/NT4 support was dropped for 8.x, any old projects that allowed install on those OS's will not be able to install on them anymore.

Changes Made: See the Change Log

Important Note if you are currently using 7.x or earlier on Windows 10
Version 1709 (and potentially later versions) of Windows 10 has a bug that prevents the SSE Setup updater in v7.x from being able to install the 8.x update after it downloads it - if the updater says "Install Failed" and then just ends, this is likely the problem. In this case, please download and install manually using the link above instead. Be aware that this issue also affects other installs created in 7.x and earlier - see here.

Important Notes when Upgrading from 7.x or earlier to 8.x
(1) SSE Setup 8.x is Unicode-based whereas 7.x and earlier were ANSI based. Because of this, 8.x and greater do not support creating installs for Win9x/ME/NT4, but only for Windows 2000 and greater. After upgrading to 8.x, if you later decide to downgrade to 7.x, you need to follow the related directions given below carefully or else the previous versions will not correctly read/work with your projects. (2) There are important considerations for patch installs. If you create a patch in 8.x for a program that was installed with a pre-8.x version of SSE Setup, then you MUST choose to use the "real Setup" on the patch's Program Info page (don't use the patch stub) for correct operation. In addition, while you can patch a pre-8.x version by doing that, you CANNOT patch a program installed with 8.x or higher with a patch created with 7.x or earlier if that patch included the real Setup. In other words, while you can create patches in 8.x that will patch 7.x and earlier programs by including the real Setup, the reverse is not true: 7.x created patches that included the real Setup can NOT correctly patch programs installed with 8.x. If a 7.x or earlier created patch did not include the real Setup then it may possibly be able to patch the 8.x version alright, however this is definitely not recommended. In general, use 8.x to patch 8.x and 7.x to patch 7.x and earlier. (3) If you previously used publishing, any saved FTP passwords will be removed upon upgrade to 8.x and will have to be re-entered.

Upgrade Procedure:
Click the 'Check for Updates' option in the Launchpad and when it finds the new version, choose to download it. (alternately, you can manually download from the website). Your current version will be detected and will be updated to the new version. After install, to update your actual existing projects to use the new version, for each project that you want to update, just open it for editing and then save it (and re-create any distributions, etc.).

Downgrade Procedure (from 8.x to 8.x):
Note: If you are wanting to downgrade from 8.x to 7.x, then follow the instructions in the section below instead. These instructions are only for downgrading from 8.x to an earlier 8.x version. Note: Due to changes starting in v8.3, you should generally avoid downgrading from 8.3 or higher to a version earlier than 8.3. Otherwise to downgrade from an 8.x version to an earlier 8.x version, follow these instructions carefully. First, before starting, you should back up your Projects folder to a safe location as a precaution. This is ultra-easy to do by clicking the Settings link in the Launchpad. Make note of the Projects folder that shows and then click the "Project Backup / Transfer to ZIP" button. By default it should already be set to back up all of your projects to a ZIP file on your Desktop - just go ahead and have it do that (it may take awhile). Once you've done that, you need to uninstall your existing SSE Setup version BUT - and this is IMPORTANT - during the uninstall, if you are asked to keep remaining files/folders or delete them, you want to KEEP them! Once the uninstall has completed, install the older version. Your projects should still exist and appear (if not, make sure the Projects location as shown in the Settings link in the Launchpad is correct). Then simply open any projects where you want to use the old version and re-save them and re-create your distribution(s) for them.

Downgrade Procedure (from 8.x to 7.x):
If your current version is 8.x and you want to use a 7.x version of SSE Setup, follow these instructions carefully. Warning: This is definitely not recommended to do and it is possible when going from 8.x to 7.x that some settings could be lost. You also should generally avoid downgrading to a pre-8.x version once you have released any software using 8.x or higher. If you still want to do so: First, before starting, you should back up your Projects folder to a safe location as a precaution. To do this, open the Launchpad and click the Settings link in the upper-right. Make note of the Projects folder that shows and then click the "Project Backup / Transfer to ZIP" button. By default it should already be set to back up all of your projects to a ZIP file on your Desktop - just go ahead and have it do that (it may take awhile). Next, on that same Settings window, you need to press CTRL+ALT+R keys on your keyboard to make a hidden button appear by the "?" button that says "Convert to 7.x". Click that button and read the warning before continuing. When ready, answer yes to the warning and let the conversion occur. When you are told it is done, click OK and then exit out of the Launchpad. Once you've done that, you need to uninstall your existing SSE Setup version BUT - and this is IMPORTANT - during the uninstall, if you are asked to keep remaining files/folders or delete them, you want to KEEP them! Once the uninstall has completed, install the older version. Your projects should still exist and appear (if not, make sure the Projects location as shown in the Settings link in the Launchpad is correct). Then simply open any projects where you want to use the old version and re-save them and re-create your distribution(s) for them.


 
Copyright © by Chris Long 2018. All rights reserved.